Album Release 2011:

Time for Change

Available as CD and Download amongst others at amazon.com, bol.com and iTunes.com.

 

 

They’re back again! The head and voice of the german techno-cult-act Moskwa TV: In close collaboration with Andreas Velte and Christian Walter [Fruit, owner of Klanghouse-Studio (a. o. Nils van Gogh, Mundstuhl, Automanic)], Paul-Alexander Schulte [Earth Nation, Vorsprung durch Technik, Winson, Laith Al-Deen, DAF, Silicon Funk] and Mike Burn [a. o. Mike Burn & Friends, The Mabuse Project (with Kai Eckhardt, Sean Rickman & David Haynes), Burn/Hewer/Iorio (with Mark Hewer & Daniel Iorio)] singer and songwriter Ion Javelin now has completed the art pop-album Time for Change which, in comparison with early Moskwa TV, turned out to be more elaborated, more complex and just cooler without though having lost touch with the central features particularly of the very last album of Moskwa TV called ‘Javelin’: Thrilling, sophisticated compositions, charismatic, within the refrains often polyphonic singing, finely tuned & vivid arrangements which from time to time leave space for (also acoustic) solos, imaginative sound-landscapes as well as ambitious lyrics with references to psychological, political and philosophical issues.

Apart from the flawless electro-pop-titles THERE IS SOMETHIN’ and BEING BOILED, a hot inventive cover of the Human League-classic with a straight house beat, as well as a wide-ranging track (LOSE MYSELF) dominated by electric guitars and furthermore powered by Kai Eckhardt’s fretless bass [Stanley Clarke, Billy Cobham, John McLaughlin] that could have emanated from a collaboration of The Cure with Japan and Tears for Fears, the long-player sometimes moves in lounge-like realms (THE ABILITY TO CHANGE, A PLACE IN THE CITY), sometimes akin to minimalist-electro (PARANOIA, GENERATOR X.O.7/8), just to present itself on the other hand romantic and soundtrack-like (LET HER GO) or impetuously electro-raving, reminiscent of the Chemical Brothers or Underworld, though more song- and pop-orientated ((WE SHOULDN’T) TAKE A CHANCE). Moreover, you can listen to a whacky & slightly darkwave-like duet (WALKING THROUGH THE RAIN) with Antje Schulz [In strict Confidence, Chandeen, Spin spin Sugar). The CD is rounded off with the previously unreleased bonus video-track PULSING ADRENALINE originating from Javelins last album ‘Broken Surface’ (produced with Harald Löwy [Chandeen]); with its mixture of experimental, ambient, ballad- and jazz-like elements this song enriches the albums extraordinary musical range once more.

Time for Change is a missing link for everyone interested in imaginative and intense music that’s mainly based on synthetic sound generators but still sounds organic, and who appreciates clear singing with a distinctive timbre, which in an imaginary cosmos of voices should be assigned to the zodiac sign of the reflected & controlled but nevertheless strongly emotional loner, somewhere between Gahan, Sylvian, Heppner, Hutchence, le Bon and the early Ferry.

Especially due to the 80’s revival [IAMX, Heaven 17, Duran Duran, Hurts, Wolfsheim, De/Vision, Air etc.], which has lasted for several years now, a younger audience with a taste for exquisite, electronic based pop might develop a strong liking to the music of Ion Javelin as well.

Further information to album and single

 

Biography

Ion Javelin was singer and co-songwriter of the german techno-cult-act from the late 80’s: Moskwa TV built bridges spanning from early techno – with great influence on the techno-/electro-scene at that time – to ambitious electro-pop; releases throughout Europe, the USA, South America and Canada, twice listed in the US-Billboard-Charts, 3 LPs, lots of singles and compilations. Further informations about Moskwa TV:

- Wikipedia

- The Secondfuture

In the 90’s Javelin had been producing – besides numerous individual titles – 2 complete albums, one of them with keyboarder [a. o. Hired Help Band, Tokyo, T. T. D’Arby, Milli Vanilli] and renowned producer [Rob & Fab, Moskwa TV, Cantara, Jade] Volker Barber; however, both works haven’t been published by now, because at that time the major labels – inspite of their high esteem for the material – opined this kind of music wouldn’t be marketable in a big way during the highday of techno, house and hip hop [e. g. Michael Wolf, A&R Virgin (Germany): “If you had come along with that stuff some years ago, we would’ve snatched it out of your hands.“]. Javelin resigned a release in the independent segment, yet remained unfazed, kept on producing his style of music and occasionally also entered into cooperations, e. g. with Chandeen or Pascal FEOS.

Javelins perennial cooperation with Harald Löwy, songwriter of Chandeen, today’s label-head of Kalinkaland Records , induced the project Broken Surface; the concept-album – based on one of his literary essays and therefore produced exclusively in terms of artistic criteria – tells the coherent, expressionistic appearing story of a culture shock experienced by a stranger on his trip through N.Y.C.; almost continuous positive and euphoric critiques, abroad as well.
Afterwards: Collaborations with e.g. The Disco Boys and In strict Confidence (Chart-Entries).

In the recent past Ion Javelin has been working together with new partners (Andreas Velte and Christian Walter [Fruit, Klanghouse-Studio (a. o. Nils van Gogh, Mundstuhl, Automanic)], Paul-Alexander Schulte [Earth Nation, Vorsprung durch Technik, Winson, Laith Al-Deen, DAF, Silicon Funk] and Mike Burn [a. o. Mike Burn & Friends, The Mabuse Project (with Kai Eckhardt, Sean Rickman & David Haynes), Burn/Hewer/Iorio (with Mark Hewer & Daniel Iorio)]) on the new art pop-album Time for Change which, in comparison with early Moskwa TV turned out to be more elaborate, more complex and just cooler, without though having lost touch with the central features particularly of Moskwa TV’s very last album, ‘Javelin’: Thrilling, sophisticated compositions, charismatic, polyphonic singing in refrains, finely tuned & vivid arrangements which from time to time leave space for solos (at times even acoustic), imaginative sound-landscapes as well as ambitious lyrics with references to psychological, social and philosophical issues.

To see former projects first click here here and then on the moons.

Album Release 2011:

Time for Change

Verfügbar als CD und Download unter anderem bei amazon.de, bol.com und iTunes.de.

 

 

Abgesehen von den lupenreinen Electro-Pop-Titeln THERE IS SOMETHIN' und BEING BOILED, einem dynamischen, originell arrangierten Cover des Human League-Klassikers in straight-housigem Beat, sowie einem weiträumig angelegten, von elektrischen Gitarren dominierten und durch den Fretless-Bass Kai Eckhardts [Stanley Clarke, Billy Cobham, John McLaughlin] zusätzlich angetriebenen Track (LOSE MYSELF), der aus einer Kollaboration zwischen The Cure, Japan und Tears for Fears hervorgegangen sein könnte, bewegt sich der Longplayer mal in lounge-liken (THE ABILITY TO CHANGE, A PLACE IN THE CITY), mal in minimalistisch-elektronischen (PARANOIA, GENERATOR X.O.7/8) Gefilden, um sich andererseits romantisch & soundtrackartig (LET HER GO) oder ungestüm electro-ravig mit Anklängen an die Chemical Brothers und Underworld, jedoch poppiger, songorientierter ((WE SHOULDN'T) TAKE A CHANCE) zu präsentieren. Ferner ist ein abgefahrenes, leicht darkwavig eingefärbtes Duett (WALKING THROUGH THE RAIN) mit Antje Schulz [In strict Confidence, Chandeen, Spin spin Sugar] zu hören. Abgerundet wird der Longplayer mit dem bisher unveröffentlichten Bonus Video-Track PULSING ADRENALINE, der dem Song-Zyklus von Javelins letztem Album 'Broken Surface' (in Zusammenarbeit mit Harald Löwy [Chandeen]) entstammt und in seiner Mischung aus Experimental-, Ambient-, balladesken sowie jazzigen Elementen die ungewöhnliche musikalische Vielfalt des Albums um ein Weiteres bereichert.

Time for Change ist ein missing Link für Jeden, der an ideenreicher und intensiver, vorwiegend auf synthetischen Klangerzeugern basierender, aber dennoch organischer Musik interessiert ist und einen klaren Gesang mit unverwechselbarem Timbre schätzt, der in einem gedachten Stimmenkosmos dem Sternbild des reflektierend-kontrollierten, dabei gleichwohl stark emotionalen Einzelgängers zuzuordnen wäre, irgendwo zwischen Gahan, Sylvian, Heppner, Hutchence, le Bon und dem frühen Ferry.

Gerade aufgrund des bereits seit einigen Jahren konstant anhaltenden 80er-Revivals [IAMX, Heaven 17, Duran Duran, Hurts, Wolfsheim, De/Vision, Air etc.] dürften sich auch jüngere Hörer mit einem Gespür für exquisiten, elektronisch basierten Pop stark in der Musik Ion Javelins wiederfinden.

Weitere Informationen zu Album und Single

 

Biographie

Ion Javelin war Sänger und Co-Songwriter des deutschen Techno-Kult-Acts der späteren 80er: Moskwa TV schlug die Brücke von frühem Techno – mit großem Einfluß auf die damalige Techno-/Electro-Szene – hin zu anspruchsvollem Electro-Pop; Veröffentlichungen in ganz Europa, den USA, Südamerika und Kanada, 2-malige Notierung in den US-Billboard-Charts, 3 LPs, zahlreiche Singles & Compilations.
Nähere Informationen zu Moskwa TV:

- Wikipedia

- The Secondfuture

In den 90ern produzierte Javelin neben zahlreichen Einzeltiteln 2 komplette Alben, eines davon mit dem Keyboarder [Hired Help Band, Tokyo, T. T. D'Arby, Milli Vanilli u. a.] und renommierten Produzenten [Rob & Fab, Moskwa TV, Cantara, Jade] Volker Barber; beide sind jedoch bis heute unveröffentlicht, da die Majors – trotz großer Beachtung des Materials – damals der Meinung waren, diese Musik sei in von Techno, House und Hip Hop dominierten Zeiten in großem Stil nicht vermarktbar [z.B. Michael Wolf, A&R Virgin: "Wärst Du damit vor ein paar Jahren gekommen, hätten wir Dir das Zeug aus der Hand gerissen."]. Javelin verzichtete auf eine VÖ im Independent-Segment, ließ sich indes nicht beirren, produzierte weiterhin seinen Stil von Musik und ging gelegentlich auch Kooperationen ein, z.B. mit Chandeen oder Pascal FEOS.

Javelins mehrjährige Zusammenarbeit mit Harald Löwy, dem Songwriter von Chandeen, heute Label-Chef von Kalinkaland Records , führte zu dem Projekt Broken Surface; das auf einem seiner literarischen Essays basierende und daher ausschließlich nach künstlerischen Kriterien produzierte Konzeptalbum erzählt die zusammenhängende, expressionistisch anmutende Geschichte eines Kulturschocks, den ein Fremder auf seinem Trip durch N.Y.C. durchlebt; fast durchweg positive bis euphorische Kritiken, auch im Ausland.
Seitdem Kollaborationen mit den Disco Boys, In strict Confidence (Chart-Entries) u. a..

In jüngerer Zeit arbeitete Ion Javelin mit neuen Partnern (Andreas Velte und Christian Walter [Fruit, Klanghouse-Studio (Nils van Gogh, Mundstuhl, Automanic u. a.)], Paul-Alexander Schulte [Earth Nation, Vorsprung durch Technik, Winson, Laith Al-Deen, DAF, Silicon Funk] und Mike Burn [Mike Burn & Friends, The Mabuse Project (mit Kai Eckhardt, Sean Rickman & David Haynes), Burn/Hewer/Iorio (mit Mark Hewer & Daniel Iorio) u. a.]) an dem neuen Art Pop-Longplayer Time for Change, das im Vergleich zu den früheren Moskwa TV's reifer und vielfältiger geworden ist, ohne dabei jedoch zentrale Merkmale gerade des letzten Moskwa TV-Albums 'Javelin' missen zu lassen: spannungsreiche, ausgeklügelte Kompositionen, charismatischer, in den Refrains oft mehrstimmiger Gesang, fein abgestimmte, lebendige Arrangements, die ab und an Platz für (auch akustische) Soli lassen, phantasievolle Soundlandschaften sowie anspruchsvolle Texte mit psychologischen, gesellschaftlichen und philosophischen Bezügen.

Um frühere Projekte zu sehen, klicke zunächst hier und anschließend auf die Monde.